To Greater Heights

As I gazed into the setting sun from Block 28, it dawned on me that I would no longer be able to indulge in the simple pleasures of observing this vista on a daily basis. The beauty of the setting sun that ends a perfect day; the constant pollution of noise and air; individuals making their way to work; the circle of friends I made at Project Pie Block 28; the bonds we shared share; the ups and downs. Memories, in general. We have built a solid foundation that it saddens me to leave them behind. To leave behind a scar.

image
© Kamille M.

Today was my last day of work at Project Pie’s Block 28 branch. The countdown has ended. This dreaded day has finally arrived. Our supposed last day kept changing that we let our guard down. Prolonging the agony only made it worse. Informing us that we had a week left struck us like a lightning bolt – unexpected, then all at once. If only healing potions existed. I’d drink a full flask to recover. Where are alchemists when you need them?

Overwhelmed with a slew of emotions, I managed to get through the day without breaking down. I almost felt the prick of the tears as everyone kept hugging me and telling me that they’ll miss me and that I should visit them and that I should do my best at Park Square (Project Pie’s Makati Branch) and that they assured me that they’ll take care of anyone who bullies me. Each partner (we call each other partners) had a different goodbye message that they conveyed, whether it was verbal or physical. It actually took a few hours after I clocked out before everything totally sinked in. I felt it. I felt pain.

Pain demands to be felt. – John Green

I didn’t want this day to end. My shift felt like a bicycle ride down a hill: the more I tried to stop, the more likely I was to get hurt; just go with the flow.

Give me a few seconds to be cliché and really cheesy but I’ll miss my Block 28 family BIG TIME! Being with them for almost six months, I find it extremely difficult to deviate from my daily routine. For six days a week, I get to be with them, have fun, go all-out, plan crazy shenanigans like it’s the last day of school, dine at places I’ve never been to, stuff myself with food in a glorified manner, battle evil, and save the world. With my move to Park Square very imminent, I have to brace myself for a rollercoaster ride of epic proportions.

I’m on a rollercoaster that only goes up. – John Green

New partners, new friends to make, a different environment to adapt to, an expanded list of food establishments to hunt, various routes that I have to familiarize myself with, a couple of partners to train, and a few stations that I need to perfect. Sounds like a lot of work. Definitely something I look forward to.

See you soon, Park Square!

2 thoughts on “To Greater Heights

Leave a Reply

