Under Southern Lights: First Day

I did a little travelling these past few days. I visited Cebu, which is where my friends were having their On-the-Job Training at various hotels and resorts.

 

It was late afternoon, 26th of August, when I arrived at Cebu. My friend JJ, along with two of his friends, picked me up at the airport. We were home-bound the moment we hailed a taxi. The flight was tiring, the sun was setting, the stores were closing, the traffic never-ending. Resting was the next best move, and so we did.

 

Oversleeping is something I’m good at. Darlene, one of JJ’s board mates, noticed it as well. Even being in Cebu never changed that.

 

Taoist Temple was first on our list. Darlene would have come with us if work wasn’t in the way. Dale, JJ’s other board mate,already left for work before I woke up. It went down to the two of us.

 

Sunglasses on my eyes, white cap on my head, trusty earphones on my ear, camera within my grasp, I was all set to go. We left the boarding house, locking it up for safety purposes.

 

Fiery hot sunlight pierced our skin, warm air circulating the atmosphere. The perfect concoction for one day of summer. But that wasn’t enough to stop us from having fun. With the temple only minutes away, I adjusted my camera’s settings, making sure that it was set right, checking the batteries as I fiddled with it.

 

Taoist Temple had a Chinese feel to it, as exemplified by its dragons, and the dominating color of red. Not to mention, Chinese characters were used in some places.

Next on our list was Sto. Niño Basilica, a popular church at Cebu. It was built purportedly on the spot where the image of the Santo Niño, a sculpture depicting the Holy Child Jesus found by Spanish explorers in 1565 preserved in a burned wooden box which was left behind during the 1521 Magellan expedition.It’s magnificence was overwhelming. The architectural design was flawless, and fit perfectly with the church’s image.

An event was being held by the church grounds. Church people (dunno what they’re called) gathered in one place, with the song “Chop Suey” playing loud. Strange. Suddenly, an image of headbanging priests struck me. I shook the image off my head. Double weird.

 

Magellan’s Cross was just outside the church. Koreans populated the vicinity, capturing photos and chitchatting. I had no idea what they were talking about but they were pointing at the cross, their gaze fixed on it.

Last on the list (which, by the way, is a mental list 😀 ) was Fort San Pedro. It is a military defense structure, built by Spanish and indigenous Cebuano labourers under the command of Spanish conquistador, Miguel López de Legazpi and the Spanish Government in Cebu. En route, we passed by Plaza Independencia. It’s a beautiful, clean park where families can have picnics and where lovers meet.

A little side trip to Crown Regency was  inevitable. It’s  where some of my friends are having their OJT (On-the-Job Training). My friends gave me a tour of the place. The place was huge, boasting three towers, each with it’s specific purpose. It was outstanding. Shimmering lights were everywhere. I could hardly take my eyes off it. It was nice to be able to come and go there as I pleased.

The end of the day came sooner than I expected. Having too much fun roaming around a different place really makes time fly. It was a two-day sightseeing trip so I’ll do the other day as a different blog.

Leave a Reply

