Starstruck

The clouds swirled frivolously as I stared at the wide open sky. It dawned on me that I was daydreaming again. Yet, my dream was empty. I removed my eyes from the sky and slowly looked at where I am. I was at Leyte Park. Reason: I accompanied my little sister Trixia, and my cousin Mao. Swimming was the only thing in their minds the whole day so I decided to take them to a pool.

 

As I made sense of my surroundings, I caught a glimpse of a group of people making their way outside. Among the crowd was Alodia Gosiengfiao – a Filipina cosplayer model, artist and host – and her sister Ashley Gosiengfiao. I was at a loss for words. I was starstruck. I never even considered the possibility that she was still here at our place.

 

A Cosplay event entitled Animaze! Cosplay Competition 2011 was held at Leyte Park, Tacloban City on September 10, 2011. I didn’t attend the event ’cause I was too lazy. Alodia and her sister Ashley were the featured cosplayers. It was an opportunity I had to let go, for now. I’m sure I’ll get to see them again. And I did… a lot sooner than I actually expected.

 

Satisfied. Yup, that’s how I felt. Completely satisfied at the sight of one of my idols. When I caught a glimpse of her, it was as if she was walking in slow motion. And I thought I could only experience that in movies. Who knew? 🙂

 

But Mao wouldn’t settle for just the sight of her. He wanted more. The image of my notebook popped in my mind. A signature. That’s it! A signature would be a lot better. As I suggested it to Mao, adrenaline rush overcame him. He was so eager to get a signature that he hardly even knew what he was doing, waving his hands back and forth and jumping lightly. I rummaged inside my bag in search for my notebook and blue pen. The moment I pulled it out, Mao grabbed it from my hand and rushed upstairs, with Trixia following him.

 

At first, Mao hesitated. He was embarrassed, as a kid should be. But after a few encouragements, and annoying persistence coming from me, Mao was finally convinced. He swallowed heavily and strapped in his armor, readying himself from the big battle ahead.

 

I waited patiently downstairs, pondering if my notebook would ever feel the touch of Alodia’s palm, and the weight of the pen as she signs it. It took Mao and Trixia a few minutes before coming down. Mao immediately showed me the notebook. Two names were now written – Alodia and Ashley – with a little cute smile and a really big heart.

 

Awww. That made my day so much.

 

Leave a Reply

