Student Resident Officers

Wishing for something might not always get granted, but at least I tried. 🙂

After my first week on duty, I often wished to be assigned a position with a graveyard shift. Staying late at night on our laboratory hotel seems so much fun. Creepy stuff happen at unexpected times, scaring those who were “burdened” – as they put it – with a graveyard shift. I, on the other hand, think otherwise. Supernatural stuff happen all around me, but I never get the chance to actually see/feel it. I believe that staying late at our laboratory hotel is my only chance.

Yesterday, a new schedule was again made. Our schedules are always posted on Thursdays. When I got a closer look, I found out that I was the new S.R.O. (Student Resident Officer – in-charge of facilitating everything in the Laboratory Hotel) with… a graveyard shift. This would be my fifth position, as well as my fifth week on duty. I jumped up and down with excitement. Sure, I wished for it, but I never thought that it would be granted. I was so happy! 🙂 But with power comes responsibility. Yes, i know the saying is cliche, but it’s true nonetheless. Being an S.R.O. meant being responsible for everything, even in the evening. For the morning S.R.O. shift, my friend Jo-anne Vargas was appointed by our Hotel Manager. She disliked the idea, but had no choice. Later, I would be starting my first day – or maybe I should call it night – as a Student Resident Officer. Just typing this now is increasing my eagerness to start my shift. By the way, there will only be two of us in the graveyard shift, me and Reniel Badenas – my classmate. He’s fond of absences, but I’m sure he’ll reconsider after knowing the degree of his position.

Here’s a picture of me and my friend Jo-anne Vargas – the new S.R.O. for the morning shift:

Together, we’ll run the laboratory hotel’s operations effectively and efficiently, not neglecting to have fun and excitement. Wish us luck! 😀

Leave a Reply

