My Sub-Professional Exam

There are two(2) types of Civil Service Examinations that may be taken to qualify for the different positions in government.  The successful test taker will be prepared in answering the questions that are covered depending on the type of examination he/she wishes to pass.

 

Career Service Subprofessional
The candidate who wishes to pass the Subprofessional examinations is expected to successfully answer questions in the following subject matter:

  • English and Filipino
    • Vocabulary
    • Grammar
    • Correct usage
    • Paragraph organization
    • Reading comprehension
    • Spelling
  • Clerical operations
  • Numerical reasoning
  • General information on the following areas:
    • Philippine Constitution
    • Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees (R.A. 6713)
    • Peace and Human Rights Issues and Concepts
    • Environment Management and Protection
Career Service Professional
The candidate who wishes to pass the Professional examinations is expected to successfully answer questions in the following subject matter:
  • English and Filipino
    • Vocabulary
    • Grammar
    • Correct usage
    • Paragraph organization
    • Reading comprehension
  • Analogy logic
  • Numerical reasoning
  • General information on the following areas:
    • Philippine Constitution
    • Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees (R.A. 6713)
    • Peace and Human Rights Issues and Concepts
    • Environment Management and Protection
Early this morning, I took the first one. Equipped with a number 2 Mongol pencil, a red irregularly-shaped sharpener, a black ballpoint pen, a blue gel ink pen, and grogginess from lack of sleep, I set forth to tackle the exam. I hoped to pass it with flying colors, crossing my fingers before taking the exam. It took an hour’s worth of preparations before we could fully start the exam. We had to accomplish a seat plan complete with our individual details and our passport-sized pictures with signatures. The exam started at around 8AM.
The moment I got the Answer Sheet – a blue piece of machine-readable paper, I immediately absorbed every detail I could. There were 180 items, two and a half hours to answer the whole thing, five choices (in the form of bubbles) per item. I had 1.2 minutes for every item. It seemed challenging at first, which was exactly what I anticipated. I psyched myself before starting.
Not to brag or anything,but the whole exam was totally my level, with grammar and clerical questions being my favorite. I finished first out of all the hundreds of people who took it. All eyes were on me, which was what I secretly wanted. I craved for attention, and got it. It felt good.
Now, I only have to wait for 45 days for the result. A month and a half seems like a very long time, but I’m sure I’ll find a way to speed things up and keep myself occupied. Blogging’s one of my choices. I’ll try to blog often. And weave short stories along the way. 😀
3 thoughts on “My Sub-Professional Exam

Leave a Reply

