My Idol: Dad

Last night I looked up at the sky, and thought to myself – how breathtaking, how mind-blowing beautiful it is up there. The stars were shining so bright and the moon was gleaming. The sky line went on and on and on, never ending. And I felt this feeling all over, this comforting feeling that tingled from my head all the way to my toes. I knew at that very moment it was you, smiling down on me – telling me not to worry ’cause everything’s all right…

 

Dad’s here.

 

 

It’s been 9 years since Dad passed away. It was March of 2003. I was only a Junior High School student that time. I was so young. Death was a topic I never even tackled before. But, I knew then that Dad was going some place above. I just didn’t give it much thought.

 

 

Dad was diabetic. He also smoked and drank alcohol a little more than moderate. It was clear that he was far from living a healthy life. But, there was a time that Dad had stopped smoking and drinking altogether. I know old habits are hard to remove. That’s why I was so proud of Dad when he was able to remove it from his system. Way to go, Dad!

 

When I was younger, it was usually Dad who picked which clothes I should wear. I hardly ever argued. Back then, I had to tuck my shirt in, which I really hated. It made me look dorky. But since everyone else did as well, it was okay. Dad also used to tell me To make it a habit of pulling my nose so as to improve it. He usually made me do it in public. I was never embarrassed, though. I kinda enjoyed it. I thought of it as a game then. Speaking of in public, when we went out, just the both of us, Dad would always talk about anything he could think of. Tips, advise, proper gestures, even girls – at that time, I was still unaware of the boyfriend-girlfriend thing. But through it all, I enjoyed every moment of it. Being with Dad was bliss.

 

 

I miss you so much, Dad! We all do. More than ever! I know you’re up there already. And if you have Internet there, please take time to read this. Dad, HAPPY FATHER’S DAY! We love YOU!

One thought on “My Idol: Dad

  1. This post brings tears to my eyes. There are no words to describe a loss of a parent. Your dad is happy knowing his son love and honor him always. He lives in you. His legacy continues thru you. This words are so moving, “And I felt this feeling all over, this comforting feeling that tingled from my head all the way to my toes. I knew at that very moment it was you, smiling down on me – telling me not to worry ’cause everything’s all right…Dad’s here.” Thanks for sharing your heart with us…it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

