Holiday Adventure

Dear friend,

I just spent the entire afternoon with my little sister, Trixia. Today being a holiday (something about Ramadan), we went to Robinson’s Place Tacloban, our local mall. Here’s the breakdown:

KFC

Mom decided not to cook lunch and told us to eat outside for today. Trixia chose KFC, as always. She never gets tired of their food, or their slow service.

JJ joined us for lunch before seeing Expendables 2. The three of us ordered the same thing – Flavor Shots. We love it! Oh and I also ordered a chicken burger. The service was slow, but our tummies were filled. JJ departed as soon as we finished, along with two of his buddies. Trixia and I headed to our next location.

CD-R King

I’ve always took a liking of CD-R King’s name. Too bad I can’t say the same for their gadgets slash electronics. Everyone knows stuff from their store either breaks easily or doesn’t last long. Still, a lot of people patronize it. Also, I gotta admit, they sell some pretty cool stuff.

Trixia wanted to buy laptop stickers for her NEW Samsung Netbook that Mom bought yesterday. Until now, I still can’t believe Trixia gets to have expensive stuff on the spur of the moment (insert bitterness here). I don’t wanna argue, though. I’m supposed to be the big brother. Honestly, it’s okay with me. I’m not really materialistic. I hate asking Mom to buy me this and that. I want to buy stuff with my own money. Speaking of money, we didn’t spend any because We couldn’t find decent stickers.

Jose Karlo’s Coffee

Jose Karlo’s, or JK as I like to call it, is one of my favorite cafés here in Tacloban. The food is scrumptious, the ambiance is great, and the staff are über friendly. It’s the whole package. Some have even christened it “The Starbucks of Tacloban”. A fitting name, indeed.

I ordered a Chocolate Chip Pancake for Trixia and my all-time favorite (since high school, which is eons ago): Chokolato Chill.

The pancakes were delish! Perfect for an afternoon snack. Paired with a Chokolato Chill, it was divine. Trixia agreed with it as well. We tried connecting to their wiFi but failed miserably. We left after resting our full tummies.

National Bookstore

Nothing like hitting the local bookstore, checking new arrivals, and finding something interesting.

Our quest to find laptop stickers led us to our local bookstore. The scrap-booking section was our best bet. After almost rummaging the display, we found none worthy of being placed on her Netbook. The stickers were either too flashy, or too irrelevant. Instead, we bought Pez candy. The search wasn’t a total waste, though. I found me a good book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I already saw the trailer for its movie adaptation and I loved it. I fell in love even more when I read the first few sentences. The “Dear Friend” thing it had goin’ on was really original. I’m planning on buying the book this week.

The Coffee Lounge

This was our last stop. It was really just a last attempt to connect to a wiFi hotspot. We were able to, but the speed was too slow. We indulged on Double Chocolate Chip cookies to ease our little frustration of not being able to connect. The cookies were yummy. Just a tip: don’t leave the cookies out for too long. They tend to get really hard.

Overall, Trixia and I had a great time. We spent the holiday together roaming around the mall and doing stuff we usually never do on regular weekdays. Mostly because of school. Looking forward to more mini adventures with my little sister.

Love always,

Rommel

2 thoughts on “Holiday Adventure

  1. Rommel, I find your posts involving Trixa and your family so heart warming! They always make me smile. I think I’ve said this before, but I will again…you are a wonderful brother! Margie

    1. Aww. Thanks, Margie. I love it when people smile. I love it even more when I make them smile. My little sister can be handful at times, but nothing I can’t handle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

