Jupiter, Here I Come!

Dear friend,

I woke up to the sound of my phone vibrating on top of our wooden drawer. It was an unknown number, so I hesitated or a bit. Eventually, I answered it, and a woman was on the other line. As groggy as I always am when waking up, I spoke normally as I didn’t want to disrespect her. I wanted to start my day right and guilt-free.

It was a mix of good and bad news. The call (along with an email) was to inform me that I had an interview request from Jupiter Island Club in Florida. It’s a golfer’s paradise. The place looks magnificent and the name is pretty cool.

And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.

Jupiter isn’t one of my Top 3 choices. Nevertheless, it’s a great offer with certain privileges that I just couldn’t pass out on. I probably should mention that the maximum number of months they allow is 7. Luckily, they can arrange us another establishment to complete the five remaining months, although they didn’t guarantee it.

The deadline for confirmation is today, so I did a little research on the place this afternoon. One of my internship companions and close friend JJ was also offered the same thing. After carefully thinking, we decided to accept the offer and look forward to what the future has in store for us.

Incidentally, I have been reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower the whole day. Putting it down was harder than I anticipated. Bathroom breaks included.

It’s strange because sometimes, I read a book, and I think I am the people in the book.

P.S. The two quotes are from the book itself.

Love always,

Rommel

Leave a Reply

