My Jupiter Island Club Experience

Every goodbye is a birth of a memory.

Yesterday was my last day of work as an Intern here at the Jupiter Island Club, Florida. Everything went by in a flash. I couldn’t believe how fast it all was.

I arrived here on the 4th of December. I was supposed to arrive two weeks earlier, but I got denied a VISA on my first try. I expected it to be freezing here, but, to my dismay, the weather felt warm and comfortable. Kinda like how the Philippines (my home country) feels like – tropical. I kinda wanted it to snow a little. As it turns out, Florida is called the Sunny State, probably ’cause of its tropical-ish weather. Snow has yet to fall on the southern part (which is where I am), but there were a few cases where it actually snowed up north. As for me, snow is just something to look forward to, I guess.

I was assigned as a Dining Room Server here. Sounds fancy, doesn’t it? Well, it is. Kinda. I get to be assigned at the Main Club (one of the few places of assignments) which is a Fine Dining Restaurant. Our uniforms come in the form of jackets and bow ties. People dining donned their fancy dresses and jackets coupled with expensive jeweleries. Very similar to the gathering of noble men, just less extravagant. I got used to this, eventually, living in one of the most expensive zip codes.

The other places of assignments are:

Golf House: A golfer’s place to dig in before going back to the field. Only open for lunch, Golf House caters not only to golfers, but anyone who wants to have lunch. Here in the club, there are only two choices to have lunch at: Golf House and Beach Club.

Beach Club: A casual restaurant. As the name suggests, it is situated right beside the beach. People dining here are rewarded with an excellent view of the Hobe Sound Beach.

Three Palms: A newly openend casual restaurant. It is right beside the Main Club, sharing one kitchen. I rarely get assigned here. Space-wise, it’s a little bit small, only able to accommodate around 50 people, not including the loggia. The only thing I look forward to when being assigned here is that I get to wear my vest and bow tie. I love wearing my vest.

Snack Bar: A fast food restaurant located near the beach, just across the Beach Club. For the entire season, I was only assigned here a couple of times. Fast-paced service is what it’s known for, able to serve hundreds of people in a little over two hours. This reminded me of my Busch Gardens days. So nostalgic.

Of all the places, I love being assigned at the Golf House the most. The shift starts at 10:30A.M., so I don’t have to get up early in the morning. The place is usually not as crowded as the rest of the places which means less work for us. And, to top it all off, the Manager, Mr. Juan, is the kindest Manager in the Club. Working with him was both an enjoyable and a learning experience.

My time here in the Jupiter Island Club was very short-lived. I’m gonna miss all the people that have become a part of my life, one way or another. I have learned stuff I never thought I would. I accumulated heaps of experience that made me level-up in my own way. I am now at Level 45. Sorry. Couldn’t help it. It’s the gamer inside me. I am so grateful for this wonderful blessing I have been bestowed upon. Words cannot express how much I want to thank God, my family, my friends, and even you, my dear reader. Thank you! Thank you! THANK YOU!

image

To think, this is just half of my Internship. Another chapter of my little book of life has yet to unfold.

Leave a Reply

