How a Day Off Should Be

Last Tuesday, it was my day off. As usual, I had nothing planned and equipped my go-with-the-flow attitude. I tried seeing just how far my two feet can take me. This time, I stayed on the island. I’m usually off the island on the days I’m off.

I started my day by waking up, of course having lunch at Millie’s on Main Street, an American Restaurant/Bar on the downtown area of the island. It was part of my Foursquare list of places to visit, thus, it was my first time there. I sat at the bar area as there were no more vacant tables. I didn’t mind. In fact, I actually would have preferred it over a table. The bartender took care of me, drink and food order and all. I ordered a Grilled Club Deluxe and a Coke.

image

The food was delicious! I could taste the freshness of the ingredients. I forgot to tell the bartender to remove the tomatoes. I don’t eat it. Dunno why. I just don’t. I opted for fries instead of the typical chips. Not exactly a chips person. No offense.  Admittedly, even for a heavy eater like me, I already felt full after the first sandwich. I was able to finish my meal, though. Fries included. I like fries.

As for the bartender, his service left much to be desired. Sure, he welcomed me, took my order, and served it right. But, service doesn’t end until the customer leaves. After I got my order, he never even bothered checking up on me. He was just roaming around. There weren’t really that much people on the bar. There were two, at most. I’m not complaining. But a bartender is supposed to be sharp. Or at least, engaging. He lacked that. He needs more experience. I didn’t bear a grudge or anything, though. I was still a satisfied customer, regardless of his lack of attentiveness. I left with a smile.

I went to the park to read my book. The weather was really beautiful. It wasn’t warm or freezing. It was just right. Perfect weather for hanging out at the park. I was alone, though. A few chapters after, I saw a couple of my friends. Well, I only knew one – Mae. I used to work with her work with her at the Main Dining Room. The rest, I only knew by their faces. A simple hi or hello would suffice when we bumped into each other. They were: Claire, Dani, Gel, and Ivan (who introduced himself as Rudy, which I totally believed to be true).

image

A little bit of awkwardness was present. I wasn’t that good in interacting with fellow Filipinos here on the island. But something changed that. A little bit. A quick but very tiring game of Frisbee.

image

I haven’t really played Frisbee before. Well, not the way it was actually supposed to be played. I had a different version of it back when I was still a kid. I hesitated a bit, actually, before joining. But I joined eventually. And I swear, it was so much fun. We split into two groups. I was with Dani and Mae. The other group was composed of Claire, Ivan, and Gel, obviously. I had a couple of shining moments, namely: the first one who caught the flying disc with just one hand. I did it more than once. The others had their moments too. Mae was dubbed the “kneeling girl” for catching the flying disc while kneeling. Dani exhibited proficiency while playing. My team mates were cool. The other three were equally cool in their own way.

Incidentally, a couple with a pet dog passed by the park. Claire identified them as guests who ate at Village Inn where she works. I couldn’t help but go with Claire and interact with the couple. They were nice and friendly. They introduced the dog as Wyatt (not sure with the spelling). Wyatt was very trained. Claire and I played fetch with him. The ball we kept throwing was nothing short of dog slobber. I just brushed it off by the grass. Wyatt also knew tricks like playing dead, but was having too much fun with his new friends that he didn’t want to stay and was very active. I wish I had a dog. I plan on getting one someday.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

It’s been a long time since I felt this good on any of my day offs. The reason being I always have to work hard if I am to earn a lot. I would sacrifice half of my day off working my butt off. Tuesday was my first day off in a while that I never worked a single second. This is the very definition of a day off. To rest, have fun, and let loose. And rest some more.

Leave a Reply

