My Signature Item

Daily Prompt: Sherlock Holmes had his pipe. Dorothy had her red shoes. Batman had his Batmobile. If we asked your friends what object they most immediately associate with you, what would they answer?

Simple. A cap. Any cap. Every single day I wear a cap. I have an assortment back at home. I have my black sorta-ripped-but-not-really-ripped Project Pie cap that I wear everyday to work. I have a cap to be paired with every Project Pie work shirt (black, blue, gray, and brown). Most of which I bought from Oxygen. It started with me just wanting a gray cap. I found one and bought it. As I walked past Oxygen, I immediately spotted this cool brown corduroy cap. I was smitten. Naturally, I bought it. What I didn’t expect was seeing this plain black cap that resembled a beret. The sleek simple design made me bought it. I swear, it must have been a hypnotic spell cast upon me.

One of my prized possessions is my black floral snapback cap that I had to travel around the world in less than eighty days to get my hands on it. I crossed the Sahara dessert, mustered up my courage and did a free fall at the Grand Canyon, conquered a fortress built solely of ice, shrank down to the size of pixies to save their damsel in distress, fought valiantly against a steel acid breathing dragon, and poked a palm-sized jellyfish. The jellyfish proved to be the climax of my adventure. Man, that jellyfish can sting.

My plain white cap that I got slash asked from my aunt is already picking up dirt in my room. We bought it at this place with the color Green in its name. My memory of the place is fuzzy. Manila is full of places I haven’t ventured to yet. I can easily get lost in the sea of people at a local mall or a busy street. Poor me and my sense of direction.

If I mention all the backstory of each of my caps, this blog post would be my longest. Even summarized stories prove to be long. My caps will stay in my room until I find a good place slash thing to put them in. I should get a cap rack or cap holder or whatever it’s called to store all of my goodies. Now that would be very useful. Plus, it sounds organized. I like being organized.

One thought on “My Signature Item

  1. That is a great collection of caps with lots of stories and memories to go with them. I think I should start doing something like that for my son. He looks good in caps. Lately he’s collecting snow balls of places we’d been. Have a fun Summer and thanks for the recent comment. All the best to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

