Deviation

Work has got me occupied lately. My daily routine now consists of eating, working, and sleeping. This leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. It was high time I spiced things up and added a little flair.

I requested three days off from work from Jason, our Scheduling Manager. My request was granted in a heartbeat.

Day one… will be a different post. Instead of the usual chronological order of blogging I do, I decided to switch to an unorthodox way. I’ll be sharing what transpired on my second day off.

A few weeks ago, my college buddy Daphne told us that she would be paying a visit here in Manila to submit work-related documents. We took the opportunity to arrange a day to meet up and explore. Calendars were marked. Date: 08/20.

JJ and I took a taxi to Resorts World around lunch time to fetch Daphne. All three of us were hungry at that time. So hungry that we entered Pancake House after making a 360-degree turn of the place. We also planned on meeting up with a couple more college buddies. One of those were Kevin, my brother from another mother (meant figuratively). He was on his way to SM Mall of Asia (MOA) so we decided to just meet up there.

With much thought, we dined at Shakey’s and ordered Deal 2. Daphne’s craving for spaghetti was satisfied. I, on the other hand, enjoyed the Mojo’s very much.

image

Next on our list was SM Aura. I have been dying to try Magnum Café and experience what all the hype was about. Given that I had my heart set on it for the past few months, my visit there would mean temporarily quenching my insatiable desire for anything sweet.

image

image

Magnum Café is located on the fifth floor of the mall. The entrance boasted a gold-colored sign that read: Magnum Manila. Inside, the café oozed with an aura of sophistication and elegance. The feeling one gets when entering a fine dining restaurant. I should know. My past work experiences involved a private country club and a historic hotel, to name a few.

The build-your-own Magnum option was simple. Choose a flavor, three toppings, the dip, and the drizzle. They add a circular chunk of chocolate with an embossed letter M to finish it off.

image

My combo:
•Chocolate Ice Cream
•Mini Mallows, Double Speculoos Cookies, and Gold Nuggets
•Dark Chocolate Dip
•White Chocolate Drizzle

I have a sinfully exquisite taste.

image

So far, I’ve only touched the tip of the iceberg. I better get down to business and finish listing all the places we set foot on.

Kevin, who works at P.F. Chang’s, offered us a sweet treat at their Taguig branch. He chose two items from the dessert menu: Choco Buchi (traditional rice balls with sinful chocolate filling) and Constantino Affogato (vanilla ice cream served with a shot of freshly brewed espresso and cinnamon syrup). An excellent way to make a first good impression what with my sweet tooth and all. This marked my first ever visit at a Philippine branch of P.F. Chang’s. My first one was at Chicago. The sweetness overload doesn’t end there though.

image

image

Joanne, who had to work that day, got out at around five in the afternoon. Edje, who traveled all the way from Antipolo, was the sixth and final member that completed the group. We rendezvoused at Project Pie BlueBay Walk. I noticed that I tend to be in a Project Pie branch almost every single day. Talk about loyalty.

image

I paired up with JJ and shared a BYO pizza. Daphne paired up with Joanne and built their own pizza, with a little help from me. Kevin ordered a Banana Nutella dessert pizza only. Edje had a Hawaiian-themed pizza. We shared our pizzas with one another and opened up bottled emotions about our former schoolmates. Surprisingly, we had a lot to talk about. Even though there were six of us, our group couldn’t completely finish all of the pizzas. There was at least one slice left from each of us. Our conversation only paused momentarily when we switched places and dropped by at Infinitea.

image

My brother and I craved for milk tea earlier. I tried the Salted Cream Wintermelon Milk Tea. Always a fan of the Wintermelon flavor. Cravings satisfied.

image

Our last stop (yes, this is the last) was Gerry’s Grill. Bangus Sisig, Chicken Lollipops, and a bucket of ice cold San Mig Lights were our companions. We, and by we I mean they, drank their hearts out and freed their inhibitions.

The entire day was literally an all-out restaurant-hopping fun-filled adventure. Food was definitely the main theme of the day. Pigged out like there was no tomorrow. Best part: company. Friends always make a day ten times better.

How strange is the lot of us mortals! Each of us is here for a brief sojourn; for what purpose he knows not, though he senses it. But without deeper reflection one knows from daily life that one exists for other people. –Albert Einstein

4 thoughts on “Deviation

  1. Wow! These is one incredible taste bud marathon. I had 3 days of Manila adventure before flying back to Houston. The malls and restaurant were amazing. Way even better than what I’ve seen in Texas. I was the one a bit shock how much my family order and eats in the Philippines. Total all out feast! I will miss the good for sure but more than that I will miss family! Have a fun weekend and all the best to you and family.

    1. Only three days?! Definitely not enough. If only you could have stayed a bit longer. You would be able to share even more memories of your travels here in the Philippines and do a lot of catching up with family and friends. Plus, there is never any shortage of new restaurants and attractions. You know what they say. “It’s more fun in the Philippines!” Hopefully next time, you can stay even longer. Best of luck to you and your family as well!

Leave a Reply

