Mad Mark’s

I remember the good ol’ days when Mondays were my rest days. I get some quality me time; getting pampered in a spa, eating hefty portions of food, watching movies. Gone are the days of pure pleasure. Until today, that is.

Weeks of lackluster food adventures have passed by, or should I say, lack thereof. My taste buds have been tinglingly craving for something new and exciting. Coincidentally, I have set a plan with a few partners to try this place at Glorietta 5. Dannice a.k.a. Dan (Restaurant Partner) has recommended a good dining spot that she always found worth going back for – Mad Mark’s Creamery and Good Eats (Mad Mark’s, in short).

Mad Mark’s, located at the second level of Glorietta 5, is a not-so-new creamery in the Makati area. Their sign itself reads:

Made from Scratch
Honest Ice Cream

I figured it was high time we tried this place out. And so we did. Originally, there were supposed to be three of us. Once we were able to confirm that our rest days synced with each other, we invited the other partners, hoping to increase the number. As it went down, the others just couldn’t make it, including the supposedly third person (Joaqui). Joaqui woke up to a nauseating feeling just a few minutes before our rendezvous time. Typical. Dan and I still went.

image

As per Dan, the steaks are well worth the money. For a price range of 200-300 pesos, a steak with two sides sounded fanciful. I just had to try it; Medium Rare, of course.

image

Slicing my steak always amused me. The suspense of whether or not they got the temperature right or not. As I sliced my steak oozing with just enough oil, I was welcomed with this redness that I was accustomed to. Imagine my delight, taking the first bite out of my juicy steak, nibbling on the soft tender meat. I swear, my taste buds felt like a crowd cheering for the winning shot. The tenderness of the signature steak was complimented with the cream mushroom sauce. Add in my bacon potato salad and plain white rice and bam! A heavy not-so-hearty-but-scrumptious meal. Just don’t mind the abundance of starch.

As a tradition, I finish off my meals with a dessert, may it be a plain belgian chocolate waffle or a candy bar. For my Mad Mark’s experience, my feet did not permit me to leave without trying one of their many not-so-quotidian ice cream flavors coupled with interesting names. Our server, who had a Trainee nametag, offered us to try their various flavors. I only tried two flavors: Java Hot Chocolate and Half-Baked Madagascar. I instantly fell in love with the latter. I could spot any version of cookie dough a mile away. I didn’t bother trying the rest of the flavors. I was too caught up in the moment.

image

Every bite was a fleeting moment of fireworks. The half-baked cookie dough was just soft enough that it seemed to melt in my mouth. I only had one scoop. Huge mistake. Next time, I’ll be sure to order two or more. I forgot which flavor Dan got. If my memory serves me right, it was something like Chocolate on Chocolate. Basically, a decadent chocolate ice cream infused with oreo. A rank lower, in my opinion, but was also really pleasing.

I have Dan to thank for this wonderful recommendation. Do know that I enjoyed every bite of the steak and every spoonful of ice cream I took and every topic we talked about. My money and time was well worth it.

Our lunch at Mad Mark’s was as evanescent as a rainbow.

Leave a Reply

