Until Next Time, Park Square Family

Parting is such sweet sorrow. – Shakespeare

Project Pie keeps expanding in an exponential rate. For a franchise from the U.S. that is relatively new, it has captured and has yet to capture the hearts of thousands. Currently, there are already seven stores here in the Philippines, the seventh (Park Square) being my current store. For now, that is.

The whole expansion process is the reason why some Restaurant Partners (our job title) had to transfer, myself included. I was originally assigned at the Block 28 branch around Alabang. Jason, a scheduling Manager, handpicked me and two other partners – Diane and TJ – for Park Square. Our personal growth was the reason behind it. Jason believed that we would grow after being transferred. And while we were nurtured by the caring hands of our Managers on Duty at Park Square, our total number of partners is really high. Vincii, our OIC, was faced with the gut-wrenching burden of a task of letting some go and scattering them to other branches. I am part of that little group of people. At first, Diane and I were chosen to help open the Valero (Makati City) branch. With a playful twist of fate, both of us were removed from the Valero line-up and was requested to go back to our roots – Block 28 Alabang branch. Our mother store was (or should I say is) badly in need of Restaurant Partners. It was time to go back. Who better to help than the both of us.

Park Square will always hold a place in my heart. My love for this family are, to quote John Green: “stars I cannot fathom into constellations“. I will surely miss the shifts, rants, laughter, late night food adventures, ups & downs, Park Square itself. The list goes on. What I’ll miss the most though is the company. The fact that starting tomorrow I would be coming to work and won’t be seeing my newfound friends saddens me. Don’t get me wrong. I am just as sad leaving Park Square as I am happy being back into the gentle caress of Block 28 Alabang.

The worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared. – Lois Lowry

Nothing lasts forever. Inevitably, my last day at Project Pie Park Square came today. Jason was so nice as to bestow upon me a little sweet gift. Literally.

image

A batch of freshly baked chewy cookies gently placed inside a sturdy mason jar. A delectable treat to tickle my taste buds and reawaken my inner chocoholic. A side of me I try to lock up. Teehee.

Luckily, I got a mid shift. I got to be with the AM and PM shift partners that I will dearly miss. Did I mention I’ll miss them? I will. Day 1 to Last Day was smooth sailing. I have no regrets.

image
General Assembly 091514

And here in this room, I re-experience the memories again and again it is how wisdom comes and how we shape our future. – Lois Lowry

2 thoughts on “Until Next Time, Park Square Family

  1. Aww. But that’s where I got my free banana nutella and first Project Pie where we met! And it’s in my favorite area of Makati! 😦

    On the bright side, you are obliged to treat me another banana nutella since it’s in another branch! Heehee!

Leave a Reply

