Page 2 of 365: Rollercoaster

Dear reader,

I had a rollercoaster of a shift today with my fellow partners (Miggy the Piggy, Benjobert, and Rita Dora) and MOD (Felix the Ninja Cat). Wait, rollercoaster would be an understatement. I am unable to find the apposite word. Will update this when I find one.

It was raining cats and dogs in the store. Guests just literally kept entering the premises one by one. A little family here, a group of friends there. You name it, we had it. My station was the Dough Greeter. I always just somehow magically teleport there whenever we have guests.

For Me and Rita’s break, which was around half past 9, we decided to pamper ourselves a little and dined at Conti’s at Westgate. We worked non-stop for hours. We deserved it.

Service at Conti’s was never their best side. Slow as usual. Rita ordered Salmon. Forgot what the name of the dish was. I, on the other hand, chose the Barbequed Spare Ribs.

image

Serving-wise (the dish), it was okay. The taste, delicious! Not sure if I was just really hungry, but the sauce, the garlic rice, the tender and juicy spare ribs, was a harmonious balance in my taste buds. I didn’t eat the atchara that came with it.

I went back to the store ahead of Rita. My partners needed reinforcements. Two soldiers subtracted from the front lines proved to be a fatal mistake.

I got back way too late. The huge waves of people already ceased. The battle was over. As I refilled the Nutella squeeze bottle, I noticed everyone’s fatigue. Dead tired was written all over their faces, their expressions never wavered. Miggy even collapsed in the kitchen. For some reason, he drank milk and just magically restored all his health points. Yet, even in the toughest times, they could still manage a smile. We could still manage a smile. Heck, we weren’t just smiling, we were laughing our socks off. Our veins almost popped out of our bodies. A night of epic proportions, it was.

Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. ~ Confucius

Happily yours,
Rommel

Leave a Reply

