Page 11 of 365: Unlimited Rice

Dear reader,

Last month, we tried this place called Kumpares. What’s interesting about it is that it has several branches already, most of which are only a kilometer or less away.

Kumpares is a play on words, a combination of two separate ones. Kumpare means close friend. As for pares, here’s how Wikipedia defines it:

Pares is a dish originating in the Philippines. Literally meaning “pair”, this dish is a combination of a beef stew viand and a bowl of soup, both served with rice.

The said place may have become popular due to the Unli Rice factor that many are currently capitalizing on. Even I can’t deny that anything unlimited is really enticing.

For tonight, after work, we ate again at Kumpares. This time, in a different branch. I believe it was the Casimiro branch.

The Casimiro branch, in our opinion, was a better branch than the one we tried first. Service was faster, quality was better, song choices were much more enjoyable. Even the ambiance of the place was more noticeable. I had three extra cups or bowls of rice with my Pork Pares. The others averaged almost the same number. The overload of garlic is something I’ll never get tired of. I just like garlic so much, makes most food exponentially delectable.

Incidentally, I have to work at 12NN tomorrow. Closing shift to Mid shift is an okay transition, I guess. Here’s to less sleep and more food.

My whole comic persona is that of a guy who explores the id: I romanticize gluttony, I romanticize laziness, and people identify with that.

~ Jim Gaffigan

Unlimitedly yours,
Rommel

Leave a Reply

