Page 16 of 365: Papal Visit

Dear reader,

I was brushing my teeth while looking for a decent channel to watch. MTV is always my first choice. But whenever I don’t feel the song playing, I hop from channel to channel. Star Movies was showing The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones. I already saw that, so I pressed 0 and 8 on the remote, and it showed a live feed of the Pope waving his hand to the hundreds, maybe thousands, of people lined up in the road that looked like the Skyway.

Comfy at the back seat of a blue Volkswagen, the Pope flashed his warm smile and waved endlessly to the sea of people. I could see countless iPads and smart phones, all trying to capture the momentous event.

The people waited for three or more hours for the Pope, who passed by in merely a few seconds. For them, all of their waiting was well worth it.

The Pope arrived here in the Philippines yesterday, and is scheduled to visit my hometown, Tacloban City, sometime this week. When I found out about this last year, I wanted to go home so much. But I couldn’t, which is okay. I’ll get my chance someday, to be graced by the Pope.

From my point of view, God is the light that illuminates the darkness, even if it does not dissolve it, and a spark of divine light is within each of us. ~ Pope Francis

Incidentally, the store was really busy today. Huge waves of people drowned us in a sea of confusion, noise, and reverberating laughs. Also, I started doing a little Admin work before the store got busy. Really busy.

Religiously yours,
Rommel

Leave a Reply

