Page 3 of 365: The Torch

Dear reader,

I was baking pizzas in the oven earlier during my shift when one of our Team Leaders came to me and said:

“Do you know how to arrange the Daily Cashier’s Reports (DCR)?”

I said I didn’t. I’ve never done it before, but I have witnessed a couple of my partners do it.

“Are you good with numbers?”

Yes. I’m pretty confident with my level of understanding when it comes to math, or numbers, in general.

“I already know, Felix.” I said, out of the blue.

Felix is one of our Team Leaders in Block 28. He used to be in charge of Wet Stocks, and did a pretty good job at it. Now, he handles Scheduling.

I wanted to say that Mommy Liz, our OIC, already told me that she wanted to promote me to a Team Leader Understudy (we cool kids say TLU for short) on the 19th of December, but I felt that it was unnecessary and a little bit boastful. I didn’t want to seem too full of myself.

As I shifted my weight to my right foot, Felix appeared shocked.

“She already told you, huh?” Felix asked rhetorically.

“See, she really took a liking to you.” Drew said, stepping in on the conversation.

Drew is also one of our Team Leaders, in charge of Dry Stocks. He is also probably one of the whitest-skinned person in the store. I’m not exaggerating.

Felix had to check with Bea and see whether she approves or not. She did.

Bea is our Team Leader who handles both Admin and Scheduling (alongside Felix). One could just imagine how much paperwork she has to tackle on a daily basis. This is one of the main reasons why I accept being a TLU. I want to help Bea out, lessen her paperwork, and help the store in general. Plus, the knowledge I would gain would be benignant. I could use it in the future.

I recommended you.”

I felt a huge weight in my chest. Felix recommended me. I bore the burden of being a torch lit ablaze by the flame of responsibility passed down from Felix.

“I won’t let you down. If I could help the store, in more ways than one, that would be great. Thanks!”

I consider this pretty much the highlight of my day. Throw in a couple bursts of laughter with my partners and that’s pretty much my day. 

We are made wise not by the recollection of our past, but by the responsibility for our future. ~ George Bernard Shaw

Incidentally, during our break, we took a groupie/groufie. I’ll try to take pictures everyday.

image

Responsibly yours,
Rommel

Leave a comment